+39 393 8602 451
5 top cathedrals of Puglia

5 top cathedrals of Puglia

Puglia is known for its beautiful Romanesque structures, and here are the 5 top cathedrals in Puglia;

The Basilica of Santa Caterina di Alessandria in Galatina

This cathedral is an excellent example of the Apulian Romanesque style. The external design is constructed from stone embroidery. It has a breathtaking interior which makes your trip to Galatina worth your while. The aisle is frescoed in a pure gothic style by the Franciscans, and these paintings have taught the illiterate people of the fourth century the important elements of religion. The aisle displays both the old and new testaments with accurate details.

Cathedral of San Nicola Pellegrino, Trani

This cathedral is dedicated to Saint Nicholas the Pilgrim, its construction started in 1159, and it ended in 1186, although preliminary construction started in 1099. The church is popularly known for the pointed arch under the bell tower, where you can enjoy the view of Trani and the Adriatic Sea, and the saint Nicholas Crypt which is located below the church's main entrance. there are still remains of the original mosaics of the pavements, which includes the original sin episode of Adam and Eve and the allegory of Alexander the Great flying to heaven. The church is located a few metres away from the coast.

Basilica cattedrale di Santa Maria Assunta

This church is also known as the Cathedral of Santa Maria dell'Assunzione; its construction started in the year 1302 and was completed in 1317 by the order of Carlo ii d'Anglò, king of Naples, after Christianity was restored to the city. The cathedral is located in Lucera, in the province of Foggia. The interior of the cathedral has the influence of the French Gothic Cathedral style all over it, from the arcades of pointed arches of the wide central aisle and the pillars which support them. The frescoes in the left-hand apse dates back to the 15th century, while the right-hand apse has a crucifix from the Rhineland that dates back to the 14th century.

Basilica di Santa Croce in Lecce

This cathedral is also known as the Basillica of Holy cross, its construction started in 1144, and its final construction ended in 1659. The interior has a nave with a wooden caisson ceiling and two side chapels which was originally designed to be four aisles. The cathedral has seventeen altars, with the coat of arms of the Adorni family is seen on the decorated portal of the main altar. It has a generously decorated façade with grotesque figures, vegetables and a big rose window.

The Cathedral of Otranto

This cathedral is also known as the Basilica Cattedrale di Santa Maria Annunziata, and it is dedicated to the annunciation of the Virgin Mary. Its construction started in 1068 by the Norman bishop William and was consecrated on the 1st of August 1088. The most popular part of the cathedral is the floor mosaic that covers the whole floor of the apse, the nave and the sanctuary, and it dates back to the 12th century. The mosaic features scenes from the Old Testament, medieval chivalry literature and bestiaries, and the Alexander Romance.